Three 6 Mafia, Velvet Revolver, Amanda Perez, Smashing Pumpkins

Three 6 Mafia

Three 6 Mafia formed in 1991 by DJ Paul, Lord Infamous, and Juicy J, they shortly thereafter recruited fellow rappers Koopsta Knicca, Gangsta Boo, and Crunchy Black. They originally hail from Memphis, Tennessee. In 1995, Three 6 Mafia released their debut album, Mystic Stylez. In 1996, they released their follow up album, Chapter 1: The End. Their third album, Chapter 2: World Domination, was released in 1997 and has sold over eight hundred thousand copies to date. Their fourth album was released in 2000 and titled “When the Smoke Clears: Sixty 6, Sixty 1”. It includes smash hits such as “Who Run It”, “Tongue Ring”, and “Sippin On Some Syrup”. This is the first album by Three 6 Mafia that went platinum. Three 6 Mafia has since released five albums which include Choices: The Album in 2001, Da Unbreakables in 2003, Choices II: The Setup in 2005, Most Known Unknown also in 2005 and Last 2 Walk in 2008. On June 7, 2006, Sony officially acknowledged the departure of original Three 6 Mafia member, Crunchy Black. He stated his reason for departure was to make a solo album that DJ Paul and Juicy J had allegedly put off for years, with most of the material being used for Most Known Unknown. Thereafter Three 6 Mafia consisted just of remaining members DJ Paul and Juicy J.

Velvet Revolver

Velvet Revolver is a Grammy Award-winning hard rock supergroup consisting of former Guns N’ Roses members Slash, Duff McKagan and Matt Sorum, alongside Dave Kushner formerly of punk band Wasted Youth. The quartet then set about auditioning a lead singer, with VH1 filming the recruitment process. The resulting documentary was aired as VH1 Inside Out: The Rise of Velvet Revolver. A number of lead singers auditioned, including Canadian Todd Kerns (formerly of Age of Electric), Josh Todd (of Buckcherry), Michael Matijevic (of Steelheart), Sebastian Bach (formerly of Skid Row), Kelly Shaefer (of Atheist/Neurotica) and Travis Meeks (of Days of the New). Myles Kennedy (of Alter Bridge and formerly of The Mayfield Four) declined an invitation to audition because he didn’t like the band’s lifestyle and also to focus more on other projects. Reportedly, singers Mike Patton(formerly of Faith No More) and Ian Astbury(The Cult) were also approached early in the process, but both declined the offer. Scott Weiland had become friends with McKagan (via their respective wifes) and had once played on the same bill as Kushner. Originally Weiland was wanted by the band but due to STP still touring he declined. After the band heard about STP’s split in 2003, they were quick to get Weiland involved. Once he heard the material and offered his services as the lead singer, the band was formed. In 2004, Velvet Revolver released it’s debut album, Contraband. Contraband debuted at number one on the American Billboard 200 chart and was certified double platinum by the RIAA. Velvet Revolvers current album, Libertad, was released in 2007.

Amanda Perez

Amanda Perez, a hip hop and R&B artist and song writer, was born in Fort Wayne, Indiana in 1980. In 2001, she released her first single titled “Never”. “Never” became Amanda Perez’s first charting single of her career, peaking at #10 on the Billboard Hot 100 sales chart. In April 2002, she released her first album titled Where You At?, headed by Los Angeles radio DJ and A&R music producer Mighty Mike Quinn (Mike Q.) under the label Powerhowse Records Beverly Hills, California. Co-production of LP included Los Angeles based producer Tony P. (Palacios). Perez scored her biggest hit in 2003 with the single “Angel”, which peaked at #20 on the Hot 100 sales chart and #3 on the radio. This single helped the album (also called Angel) to become a hit. Quinn also directed and produced 4 music videos for Amanda Perez. The videos made MTV and charted her on TRL (Total Request Live)at number seven on the MTV show. The album was a hit in the United States, and made her a celebrity in her hometown, inking a deal with Universal Records. It also summoned the attention of other major record companies.

Smashing Pumpkins

The Smashing Pumpkins is an alternative rock band that was formed in Chicago, Illinois in mid 1988. It was founded by Billy Corgan on vocals&guitar and James Iha on guitar. The band has included D’arcy Wretzky on bass guitar, Jimmy Chamberlin on drums&percussion and Melissa Auf der Maur on bass guitar among its membership. In 1991, the Smashing Pumpkins released their debut album, Gish. The album peaked at only #195 on the Billboard 200 but has since gone platinum. The Smashing Pumpkins broke into the musical mainstream with their second album, Siamese Dream released in 1993. Siamese Dream debuted at number ten on the Billboard charts, sold over four million copies in the U.S. and over six million worldwide. In 1995, the Smashing Pumpkins released their third album, Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. Led by the single “Bullet with Butterfly Wings,” the record debuted at number one on the Billboard charts. The album spawned four more singles, “1979”, “Zero”, “Tonight, Tonight”, and “Thirty-Three” all over the course of 1996. The album has since gone platinum nine times over. The Smashing Pumpkins has gone on to release four more albums, with their latest, Zeitgeist, released in 2007.

Continue Reading